Geometry of HyperKahler Varieties (23w5100)


(University of California, Santa Barbara)

(Universiteit Antwerpen)

Laure Flapan (Michigan State University)

Emanuele Macri (University Paris-Saclay)

Laura Pertusi (Università degli studi di Milano)


The Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics will host the "Geometry of HyperKahler Varieties" workshop in Hangzhou, China from September 3 to September 8, 2023.

Partial travel support for this workshop is provided by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) - SFB-TRR 358/1 2023 - 491392403

Link to website

The geometry of Hyperkahler varieties is certainly one of the most studied topics in Algebraic Geometry, with many connections to Representation Theory and Arithmetic Geometry. The aim of this workshop is to survey the recent developments in this area and to investigate the open problems and conjectures, by creating new collaborations between participants from different research fields.

In addition to the research talks provided by selected participants, there will be four mini-courses delivered by some of the main experts in this area, concerning the following topics:

1) Hyperkahler geometry and stability conditions;
2) Moduli of Hyperkahler varieties;
3) Algebraic cycles on Hyperkahler varieties;
4) Applications of the decomposition theorem to the topology of Hyperkahler varieties.

Young postdoctoral researchers and graduate students are very welcome to attend the workshop and to contribute with a junior talk.

The Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics (IASM) in Hangzhou, China, and the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) in Banff, are collaborative Canada-US-Mexico ventures that provide an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station in Banff is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).